Video: How are misdemeanors in Texas punished?
Benson Varghese explains in this video the three types of misdemeanors in Texas, including punishment ranges.
There are three types of misdemeanors in Texas. A Class C offense is the lowest level misdemeanor and a Class A offense is the highest level misdemeanor in Texas.
A Class C misdemeanor is an offense that is punishable only by a fine. You cannot be sent to jail for a Class C offense. It’s a same level offense as a traffic ticket. Common Class C offenses include assault by contact or public intoxication.
A Class B misdemeanor in Texas is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. A common example of a Class B misdemeanor is possession of marijuana under two ounces or a theft and the value of the item that was taken was between $100 and $750.
A Class A offense in Texas is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to a year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. A common example of a Class A misdemeanor is assault causing bodily injury.
We hope you found this information helpful. To learn more, visit our page on misdemeanor charges.
Also published on Medium.