Flying While Intoxicated in Texas
Flying While Intoxicated is a misdemeanor offense that can have devastating effects on a person’s ability to fly in the future. The FAA prohibits the consumption of alcohol 8 hours before a flight and prohibits a person from flying with a BAC of .04 or greater.
Similarly, the State of Texas makes it an offense to fly while intoxicated. This definition of intoxication broadly encompasses any intoxicant – alcohol, drugs, dangerous drugs, even prescription medication.
Convictions for Flying While Intoxicated may hinge on whether the police officer, blood draw nurse, or forensic scientist did his or her job properly. Remember that it is the State’s burden to prove intoxication if they believe you are intoxicated. Be polite, and let the police do their job. Remember you don’t have to do their job for them. Don’t volunteer information, politely decline to answer questions or do field sobriety tests.
Flying While Intoxicated convictions can ruin careers, personal lives, and can set you back financially. If you have been arrested for Flying While Intoxicated, contact us immediately.
Call us at (817) 203-2220 for a complimentary strategy session. Our team of former prosecutors and Board Certified Criminal Lawyers are here to help. During this call we will:
- Discuss the facts of your case;
- Discuss the legal issues involved, including the direct and collateral consequences of the allegation; and
- Discuss the defenses that apply to your plan and in general terms discuss our approach to your case.
You can also contact us online:
Penal Code Section 49.05
FLYING WHILE INTOXICATED
(a) A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating an aircraft. (b) Except as provided by Section 49.09, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours.
Latest posts by Benson Varghese (see all)
- Will El Paso Shooter Patrick Crusius Face the Death Penalty? - August 4, 2019
- Dual Sovereignty Reigns Over Double Jeopardy | Gamble vs. United States (2019) - June 17, 2019
- 2019 Criminal Law Update | 40 New Criminal Laws - May 27, 2019